World Series Of Poker Opens Nomination Process For Poker Hall Of Fame –

The nomination process has begun for inducting two new people into the World Series of Poker’s Poker Hall of Fame.

The WSOP made the announcement late last week, and it’s seeking fan input to decide who the 10 finalists should be. There’s a limit of one submission per valid email address.

You can vote here.

A panel made up of living Poker Hall of Famers and members of the press vote to determine the two inductees. The WSOP takes into account results on other tours, as well as cash games.

The finalists last year were Chris Bjorin, Bruno Fitoussi, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage, David Ulliott, Humberto Brenes, Todd Brunson, Eli Elezra and Chris Moneymaker.

Brunson and Mortensen ended up making the cut, becoming the 51st and 52nd individuals in the Poker Hall of Fame. All the finalists are eligible for consideration again.

In addition to having to be at least 40 years of age, the other main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are that the player must have “played poker against acknowledged top competition” and “for high stakes,” while playing “consistently well” and “gaining the respect of peers.” The player must have lasted in the poker world too, as another standard is that they “stood the test of time.” For those who weren’t poker pros, they must have “contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.”

Ten-time bracelet winner Phil Ivey is eligible this year after turning 40 in February.

Here’s a look at all of the members.

Name Year Inducted Johnny Moss 1979 Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979 Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979 Red Winn 1979 Sid Wyman 1979 James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979 Edmond Hoyle 1979 Blondie Forbes 1980 Bill Boyd 1981 Tom Abdo

Read More Here...

This entry was posted in Casino Gambling Stocks News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.