Sources: MLB tells Cubs, Padres that Anthony Rizzo collision violated rule – FOXSports.com

Padres manager Andy Green was correct to question the legality of Anthony Rizzo’s collision with catcher Austin Hedges in Monday night’s game between the Padres and Cubs.

Major League Baseball, according to sources, informed both clubs Tuesday that Rizzo was in violation of Rule 7.13, which the sport introduced in 2014 to protect catchers from such collisions.

The violation carried no practical consequence; plate umpire Jeff Nelson ruled that Rizzo was out to end the sixth inning of the Cubs’ eventual 3-2 victory. The outcome would have been the same if Nelson had invoked the rule, which is why the play was not subject to replay.

Rizzo told Cubs writers on Tuesday that he had spoken with Joe Torre, MLB’s chief baseball officer. Torre informed Rizzo that he had violated the rule but would not be disciplined, Rizzo said. No player has been suspended for violating Rule 7.13.

Hedges left the game in the middle of the seventh inning with what the Padres called a bruised right thigh, and Green expressed his frustration with Rizzo’s play in pointed comments to reporters afterward.

Green declined further comment to FOX Sports on Tuesday, standing by his remarks of the previous night.

“It’s a fairly egregious violation of the rule,” Green said. “The rule exists to protect that catcher. The safety of the catcher is more in jeopardy now when you have the rule to protect you, because you are not expecting to get hit.

“You’ve got to think like that. I think it’s a cheap shot. I’m not saying (Rizzo is) a dirty player at all. No one is saying that. He clearly deviated from his path to hit our catcher and took our catcher out. The rule exists to protect him. It’s a disheartening play.”

Read More Here...

This entry was posted in Baseball News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.