Top hardware to be handed out this week –

VOTE NOW: Esurance MLB Awards

But even as the front offices look to the future, this unforgettable, action-packed week ahead in MLB is about the recent past.

In addition to the traditional Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) honors such as National League and American Rookies of the Year, Managers of the Year, Cy Young Awards and Most Valuable Players, Esurance MLB Awards week concludes Friday on MLB Network and at 8 p.m. ET with the MLB Awards. Categories include Best Major Leaguer, Hitter, Pitcher, Rookie, Manager and Executive.

Complete awards coverage

Here’s what to look for:

BBWAA Rookie of the Year Awards — Today, 6 p.m. ET, MLB Network
Aaron Judge of the Yankees and Cody Bellinger of the Dodgers are enormous favorites for these awards, and for good reason: Judge hit an MLB rookie-record 52 home runs while putting together an all-around season that has him as a serious AL MVP contender, and Bellinger, 21, hit a National League rookie-record 39 homers. But there are other deserving candidates, too. Andrew Benintendi of the Red Sox and Trey Mancini of the Orioles round out the AL finalists, and Pirates slugger Josh Bell and Cardinals infielder Paul DeJong are the NL finalists.

The award has been given out in each league since 1949, and only three times since have two players swept the balloting in the same year: 1987 (Benito Santiago and Mark McGwire), 1993 (Mike Piazza and Tim Salmon) and 1997 (Scott Rolen and Nomar Garciaparra).

The Dodgers have 17 ROY Award winners overall (including their Brooklyn days), the most recent being Corey Seager last year. That’s by far the most of any franchise. Next most is, appropriately, the Yankees, who are tied with the A’s at eight. New York’s most recent winner is Derek Jeter in 1996.

Read More Here...

This entry was posted in Baseball News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.